Davao del Sur - Davao del Sur Destinations

Davao del Sur

History In 1942, founded by occupation of the Japanese soldiers landed and entering in the province of Southern Davao.

In 1945, the liberation in Southern Davao from the Philippine Commonwealth troops and Davaoeño guerrillas against the Japanese forces beginning to fighting in the Second World War.


Sprawled along the shores of Southeastern Mindanao, Davao del Sur is a place of natural wonders and rarities. It boasts of the country’s highest peak, Mt. Apo, the most prized Philippine orchid species like the Vanda Sanderiana, some of the most exotic fruits, and the endangered Philippine Eagle.

Davao del Sur is home to a host of ethnic groups whose culture and way of life have been preserved. These are the Bagobos, the Mandayas, the Mansakas, the Atas, the Kalagans, the Tagakaolos, and the Mangguangans. Their arts and crafts are on display in museums and shops.

There is a wide choice of white sand beaches and resorts. In the city, there are numerous hotels and inns. Dining is good and varied. Nightlife is fun.

Some of the popular sports activities are golf, watersports, and mountain climbing.


The province is located in the southern part of the country. It is bounded in the north by Davao City; in the west by Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, and Kidapawan City; in the south by the Celebes Sea, Sarangani Province, and General Santos City; in the east by the Davao Gulf.


The province is divided into two political districts.

The total population of Davao del Sur as of May 2000 is 775,000 and is growing at the rate of 2.3 percent annually.

Cebuano/Visayan, Tagalog, B’laan, Bagobo, Manobo, Tagakaolo, Muslim.

The province is blessed with a favorable climate characterized by wet and dry seasons. The coldest time is during the months of December and January and the hottest is during the months of April and May. The province is outside the typhoon belt.

Agriculture, tourism, fishing, farming.


Major Industrial Installaton -San Miguel Brewery & Foods(SMC) -Davao Sugar Central Corporation -Nakayama Technology Corporation - Phil. based Japanese Company -Hydro-Electric Development Corp. - Owned by Aboitis Group of companies -Pryce Gas Corporation -RMG Foods Corporation -Coco Davao Corporation -Franklin Baker Corporation


Davao del Sur is subdivided into 14 municipalities and 1 cities.


* Davao City, unofficial
* Digos City


* Bansalan
* Don Marcelino
* Hagonoy
* Jose Abad Santos (Trinidad)
* Kiblawan
* Magsaysay
* Malalag
* Malita
* Matanao
* Padada
* Santa Cruz
* Santa Maria
* Sarangani
* Sulop




Wow Philippines